Welcome : Department of European Studies

Dr L. B. Ayeleru


You are welcome to the Department of European Studies. This Department was formerly known as the Department of Modern European Languages. It is one of the thirteen (13) departments of the Faculty of Arts, University of Ibadan.

It comprises three (3) units: French, German and Russian. The Department offers courses in languages (French, German and Russian) along side the culture and civilization of Germany, Russia and France with the francophone countries.

The Department should be remembered as one of the first to be established for both the Faculty of Arts and the University of Ibadan, even when it was the University College Ibadan (UCI). Besides, it is a Department that produced such renowned scholar as Jean Degrandsaigne, Monique Battestini-Petiet, Prof. Ukoyen and the immediate past Dean of the Faculty Prof (Mrs) Aduke Adebayo.