History : Department of Philosophy



The Department of Philosophy, one of the youngest departments in the faculty of Arts, was established in the 1974/75 academic session. It began with the Late Prof. P.O. Bodunrin (then Dr. P.O. Bodunrin) as the first Head of Department. The department started with a set of sixteen students (10 single honours and 6 combined honours).


Despite the fact that the department was established at a time when philosophy as an academic discipline was relatively new in the country, it has grown to become one of the largest Departments in the Faculty of Arts. During the 200/2006 academic session, a total of 52 students were registered at the 100 level. The number of academic staff has been increasing since the department came into existence in 1974. Now, there are 14 academic staff in the Department (4 Professors 3 Senior Lecturers, 7 Lecturers)