Message from the Dean

prof Oyelade"The unique concerns of the Faculty of Arts University of Ibadan"

You are welcome to the Faculty of Arts of Nigeria's premier university, the University of Ibadan. This site introduces you to the various departments, academic programmes, research activities and linkages which have fetched the faculty a niche in the national and international university rating. The faculty provides a high quality education in the humanities and explores collaborative links with units, bodies and institutions within and outside Nigeria. With the advantage of critical thinking gained from the education in the Arts, the faculty continues to generate creative and original ideas that help to provide new solutions to the problems of development in Africa. We stay at the vanguard of developing employment and life skills through a clear focus on programmes that are sensitive to the dynamics of cultural, social, historical and linguistic needs of the society.